Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Focus

Old 08-07-2015, 01:32 PM   #1
roxen
Starter Motor

Question Zetec LV 2010 rear rotors / brake pads

Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to driving so has no idea about the car maintenance apart from the scheduled servicing.

My car is Ford Focus Zetec LV 2010 with less than 60K on the clock. During the last service, I was recommended to change rear brake pads and rotors in 2-3K.

The only sound I've got now is when I release brake to go or when the car stops completely. It doesn't appear during slowing down when I'm using brakes.

So, my questions are:
1) Isn't my car still new to have such problems? I read that many drivers never needed to change rotors for the whole life of their car and that brake pads can last much longer.

2) If I'm about to change those, which brands including the model would you recommend me?

It's frustrating that my brakes got bad so quickly considering that I don't drive in the city and do less that 10K a year.

Thanks
Elena
roxen is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-07-2015, 10:32 AM   #2
DZFord
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: LS Focus PCV Valve & Hose replacement, a very detailed write up with photos. 
Default Re: Zetec LV 2010 rear rotors / brake pads

1) One of the unfortunate surprises of owning a Focus - the rear pads / rotors wear out quickly. Mine only lasted 30K km (mostly urban driving at the time). Do a search on these forums - there are many examples like yours and mine.

2) The fix is to replace the original rotors and pads with something aftermarket, longer lasting. DBA rotors are a very popular option on these forums.
DZFord is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-07-2015, 11:33 AM   #3
Yellow_Festiva
Where to next??

Quote:
Originally Posted by roxen View Post
Hi guys,