Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Old 16-12-2010, 07:01 PM   #1
max66
Starter Motor

Default QLD Safety Certificate

I need to get a safety certificate for my falcon auII '99 wagon in brisbane and was wondering how detailed this inspection is likely to be and what I need to work on before I bring it in.

The steering rack is leaking oil for a good while now and I've just been topping up regularly.

Also the rear taillight has a slight crack.

Other than that I can't think of anything else wrong that would fail but I'm not experienced in getting these and would appreciate some input. I'm just a bit nervous because some mechanics might see this as a good $$ opp.

max66 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-12-2010, 07:06 PM   #2
kenz
BOSS Pilot

After you get the inspection done Im pretty sure you get 2weeks to fix up anything that fails and take it back for a re-inspection that doesn't cost anything. You can get the work done there, somewhere else or do it yourself at home depending what it is.
Some places are more picky than others, I usually just ask around and see if anyone knows of a decent place

Blue SY Territory Ghia

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAT600
No matter how good the F6 is (and it is damn good), its missing two cylinders.
kenz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 12:12 AM   #3
fmc351
let it burn

As above. Some are sticklers for the rules, others are less fussy. There are some that wont even bother to look at the car.
fmc351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 08:52 AM   #4
MO
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

Quote:
Originally Posted by fmc351
As above. Some are sticklers for the rules, others are less fussy. There are some that wont even bother to look at the car.
If they don't look at the car there not worth going to. What if there was a real bad safety issue??